Rock Opera Artists, The Ark?

January 24, 2008

I know this is probably really lame to anyone else, but have you listened to The Ark?

The seem to be sorely mislabeled, and I don’t understand it. I’ve checked them out on Amazon, iTunes, and Rhapsody… all of them state that the band is hard rock and metal. I have yet to hear a metal song by them. I do see the glam in them, but more than anything there’s a tinge of emotional 70’s power pop or even teen idol 70’s rock.

Either way, this Swedish outfit has made some impressions on me. One thing I can’t shake is the feeling that they write their songs for the stage. I’m not talking night club stage. I don’t know, I tend to hear this being some soundtrack for a modern musical. Their songs are often diverse, large, and rich. Their fan base is minimal here in the States, as is the case with a lot of these Scandinavian wonder bands, but there’s something to be said for music this rich. It’s an experience as much as it is just something to listen to.

This song is the one that best illustrates what I mean. It’s a great song, but I don’t know anyone else in my close vicinity who has caught the Ark bug. Too bad, they’re real good. Who said glam was dead? Why is it cool to listen to the old stuff, but we haven’t grasped tributes like this?

Leave a comment